Quiz Night and Player of the Year Awards
Last week saw Halverstown Cricket Club hold its previously annual Quiz and Awards night in O’Connell’s bar in Kilcullen. Recent years were interrupted by Covid so this year saw both the 2021 and 2022 Player of the Year Awards presented for the two league teams and The Oaks, Halverstown’s social team.
Halverstown 1ST team top players were opening batsman Kevin Threadgold for 2021 and star swing bowler Neville Case for 2022, who turned in excellent figures in their respective fields. For Halverstown 2, Paolo Rosa was the outstanding player in the T20 Cup run to the final in 2021, excelling in both batting and bowling whilst Brian McAllister took the award for a second time in 2022, just pipping Ajesh and Ahsan Syed by his higher batting averages on top of similar bowling statistics. Ger O’Shea, Oaks captain, presented his award to Jim Hodgson for his all round performance with both bat and ball.
The evening included a successful fund-raising table quiz, where well known Clane quiz master (and, incidentally, former Cricket Leinster President ) Peter Thew, ably supported by his wife Liz, put together a well judged but challenging set of questions. The winner team was not a shock, with Chairman John Threadgold’s team again taking the honours in a close fought contest.
As we head swiftly towards the new season Halverstown is running its training sessions on selected Saturdays in Naas Sports Hall and will commence outdoor nets in its Brannockstown home some Thursday in early April. See Halverstowncc.com for details. The first friendlies have been arranged ahead of the league season with H1 entertaining Adare on Easter Saturday and H2 making the journey to Adare on Easter Monday, the first time the club has played a Munster team for as long as anyone can recall.
As always, Halverstown welcomes new members or old members taking up a bat or ball again. The club has been playing cricket in the same area for 138 years as of this year and looks to continue for many years to come. Please contact Honorary Secretary Stuart Conroy at 0861613353 for information.

HB and KT.jpg
HB and NC.jpg
CJ and PR.jpg

SIMBLAWebsite Builder